The Glee Project - Marissa, Damian, Hannah, Cameron, Lindsay, Samuel, Robert J Ulrich; Zach Woodlee, Alex Newell
Top row; Marissa, Damian, Hannah, Cameron, Lindsay, Samuel, Robert J Ulrich; bottom row; Zach Woodlee, Alex Newell © 2011 Oxygen

On August 21st, Ryan Murphy and Ian Brennan, the creators of Glee made their final decision on who would win The Glee Project.

The Glee Project - Samuel Larsen
Samuel Larsen © 2011 Oxygen, Photo by Chris Haston

The four finalists were Lindsay Pearce, Alex Newell, Damian McGinty and Samuel Larsen. After telling each artist how impressed he was with them personally and professionally, Ryan Murphy narrowed the finalists down to two performers, Damian McGinty and Samuel Larsen, announcing that Samuel had won the competition.

A very gracious Damian McGinty, said it was hard to be so close and not win, but Samuel deserved it. In an incredible twist of fate, Ryan told Damian he had also won The Glee Project. Both will have a seven episode arc written around their characters.

And Lindsay Pearce and Alex Newell, who bravely did his last song in drag, impressed the producers so much they were also given a prize – a two episode arc that will feature them. So fans of the show have a lot to look forward to with the new season of Glee.


Judy Sloane

Judy is Film Review Online's regular Los Angeles based reporter.

One reply on “The Glee Project – the winners”

Comments are closed.