Home SF+ Science Fiction Doctor Who – Next Doctor to be exclusively revealed TV on Sunday!

Doctor Who – Next Doctor to be exclusively revealed TV on Sunday!

SHARE
Doctor Who, 707 - Matt Smith
Doctor Who, 707 "The Rings of Akhaten" - The Doctor (Matt Smith) ©BBC/BBC Wordlwide

Well this is new for Doctor Who. The new actor to play the next Doctor will have a special program live on both BBC America and UK’s BBC One!

The UK’s Daily Telegraph says… “So far, The Thick Of It star Peter Capaldi is the most hotly-tipped to play the Twelfth Doctor”.

Doctor Who: The Next Doctor LIVE television SPECIAL will air this Sunday 4 August on BBC America and BBC One in the UK.

The next Doctor of BBC AMERICA’s hit series Doctor Who will be announced during a live special this Sunday afternoon, August 4, 2:00pm ET/11:00am PT, live on BBC AMERICA and BBC One (7:00pm BST) in the UK.

Widely regarded as one of the most hotly contested roles in British television, the show’s host Zoe Ball will unveil the 12th Doctor in the first-ever interview in front of a live studio audience set against the backdrop of a swirling vortex, among Daleks and the TARDIS.

The half-hour show will include live special guests, Doctors old and new, as well as companions and celebrity fans.

Excitement will reach fever pitch as they speculate and recall their favourites, plus feature clips and moments from across the show’s 50-year history.

[box type=”shadow” align=”alignright” width=”207″ ]The actors how have played the Doctor 1. William Hartnell (1963-1966) 2. Patrick Troughton (1966-1969) 3. Jon Pertwee (1970-1974) 4. Tom Baker (1974-1981) 5. Peter Davison (1982-1984) 6. Colin Baker (1984-1986) 7. Sylvester McCoy (1987-1996) 8. Paul McGann (1996) 9. Christopher Eccleston (2005) 10. David Tennant (2005-2010) 11. Matt Smith (2010 – 2013)[/box]

Current Doctor Matt Smith and lead writer and executive producer Steven Moffat will both give interviews about one of the biggest roles in TV and set out just what it takes to be the Doctor.

Steven Moffat says: “The decision is made and the time has come to reveal who’s taking over the TARDIS. For the last of the Time Lords, the clock is striking twelve.”

Charlotte Moore, Controller of BBC One, says: “BBC One is the home of big live events and this special live show is the perfect way to reveal the identity of the next Doctor and share it with the nation. The Doctor is a truly iconic role and I’m more than excited about the booking.”

Ben Stephenson, Controller of BBC Drama Commissioning says: ‘We can’t wait to unveil the next Doctor with everyone live on BBC One on Sunday night. Amongst all the speculation and betting, there has been lots of fun and intrigue at work as we’ve been using the codename Houdini as a decoy! It’s the biggest secret in showbiz, even those working with the new Doctor on other projects at the moment have no idea they are in the presence of the 12th incarnation.”

Keep up to date with all the latest news about the show and special guests as we build to the big climax over the next few days, and follow facebook.com/BBCOne, and @bbcdoctorwho and bbc.co.uk/doctorwho.

The special live show is made by BBC Entertainment and Events for BBC One. Guy Freeman is Executive producer and Pinki Chambers is Executive Commissioning Editor. It was commissioned by Charlotte Moore, Controller of BBC One.

The show will be simulcast live on BBC America 2pm EDT, 1pm CDT, 12pm MDT, 11am PDT and BBC One at 7pm BST