Home TV Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special – Gallery & lowdown

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special – Gallery & lowdown

Doctor Who, 50th Anniversary Special “The Day of the Doctor” has been confirmed today for BBC America on Saturday November 23rd 2013 at 2:50pm ET. In the UK it will be showing on BBC One at 7.50pm to 9.05pm.

The times around the States work out for Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) 2:50pm, Central Standard Time (CST) 1:50pm, Mountain Standard Time (MST) 12:50pm, Pacific Standard Time (PST) 11:50am.

In New Zealand it’s on Sunday November 24 on Prime TV at 8:50am. Australia it is again Sunday 24 November and here it will be on ABC, in at local times ranging from 3:50am to 6:50am. [Sydney/ Canberra/Hobart/Melbourne 6:50am (AEDT), Alice Springs/Darwin 5:20am (ACST), Brisbane/Cairns 5:50am (AEST), Adelaide 6:20am (ACDT) and Perth 3:50am (AWST).

This is of course a global simulcast. All of these times are the same actual time around the world. Unlike the New Year celebrations that featured in the 1998 Paul McGann Doctor Who tv movie!!!

BBC America will encore the special in primetime at 7:00pm ET with exclusive Inside Looks with Matt Smith and David Tennant.

The BBC also released four new pictures and we have combined these into the image gallery below.

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special – Image Gallery

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special – Official Information

The Doctors (Matt Smith and David Tennant) embark on their greatest adventure across space and time in this 50th anniversary special.

In 2013, something terrible is awakening in London’s National Gallery; in 1562, a murderous plot is afoot in Elizabethan England; and somewhere in space an ancient battle reaches its devastating conclusion. All of reality is at stake as the Doctor’s own dangerous past comes back to haunt him.

Stars: Matt Smith, David Tennant and Jenna Coleman with Billie Piper and John Hurt.

Last seen as the Doctor on January 1, 2010, this will be the first time David Tennant has reprised his role as the Tenth Doctor. During his reign as the Time Lord, Tennant appeared in three seasons as well as several specials. He was first revealed as the Doctor in the 2005 season finale, The Parting of the Ways.

Billie Piper, who played companion Rose Tyler for two seasons following the reboot in 2005, will appear in the show for the first time since featuring in David Tennant’s last episode, The End of Time in 2010.

Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Nick Hurran, Executive produced by Steven Moffat and Faith Penhale and Produced by Marcus Wilson