Avengers: Age of Ultron - Teaser poster
Avengers: Age of Ultron - Teaser poster ©2015 Marvel Studios
Avengers: Age of Ultron – Teaser poster ©2015 Marvel Studios

Avengers: Age of Ultron is Marvel’s follow-up to The Avengers and again features Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is also written and directed by Joss Whedon and has a release date of May 1, 2015

The story involves Tony Stark trying to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program but of course things go awry and the villainous Ultron emerges with his ‘terrible’ plans. It is then up to the Avengers to sort things out as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance!

Cast includes Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany, Cobie Smulders, James Spader and Samuel L Jackson.

The Avengers and this latest movie Avengers: Age of Ultron is, of course, based on Marvel comic book series The Avengers, which was first published in 1963.

Marvel is promising ‘an epic and unique global adventure’ which, given the quality of writing and direction from Joss Whedon on The Avenger (2012), it might well be able to live up to this bold statement.

Avengers: Age of Ultron – Theatrical release dates

Australia and New Zealand: April 23, 2015
UK: April 24, 2015
US and Canada: May 1, 2015

Colin Davies

The editor of Film Review Online More by Colin Davies