Here’s the lowdown for Sherlock 401, Season 4 Episode 1, titled “The Six Thatchers”. This is the first of three stories.

The episode stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Mark Gatiss, Rupert Graves, Una Stubbs, Amanda Abbington and Louise Brealey.

Sherlock 401 “The Six Thatchers” Official Lowdown


Sherlock: The Six Thatchers

In episode one of this new series, written by Mark Gatiss, Sherlock waits to see where Moriarty will make his posthumous move.

One mysterious case in particular baffles Scotland Yard – but Sherlock is more interested in a seemingly-trivial detail. Why is someone destroying images of the late Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher? Is there a madman on the loose? Or is there a much darker purpose at work? Something with its roots deep in Mary Watson’s past…

Benedict Cumberbatch returns as Sherlock Holmes, with Martin Freeman as John Watson and Mark Gatiss as Mycroft. Also starring are Rupert Graves as Inspector Lestrade, Una Stubbs as Mrs Hudson, Amanda Abbington as Mary Watson and Louise Brealey as Molly Hooper.


Sherlock 401 “The Six Thatchers” Airs January 1st 2017 on PBS’s Masterpiece slot. UK on BBC 1 TBC (but expected same day).

Sherlock, Season 4 – Behind-the-scenes filming John Watson (Martin Freeman), Mary Watson (Amanda Abbington), and Sherlock Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch) ©2017 Hartswood Films

Sherlock Season 4 Something’s coming… Preview video

Colin Davies

The editor of Film Review Online