CBS All Access, at the end of last week, revealed the official trailer and key art for the second season of Star Trek: Discovery Season 2. Notably it also announced that the second season will be extended to 14 episodes, from the previously announced 13. Nice!

New to the cast this season are Anson Mount (Captain Christopher Pike) and Ethan Peck (Spock). Captain Pike and Spock both appeared in the initial pilot episode. That was later defined as occurring before the Captain Kirk era. Star Trek: Discovery is set a bit before that pilot episode. Captain Christopher Pike is understood to have commanded the Enterprise from the early 2250s into the 2260s.

We also have a summary for the initial set up for the second season….

The USS Discovery answers a distress signal from the USS Enterprise. The crew then join forces with Captain Christopher Pike. The new mission is to investigate seven mysterious red signals and the appearance of an unknown being called the Red Angel.

The crew must work together to unravel their meaning and origin. Meanwhile Michael Burnham is also forced to face her past with the return of her estranged brother, Spock.

The returning cast members include Sonequa Martin-Green (Commander Michael Burnham), Michelle Yeoh (Philippa Georgiou), Doug Jones (Commander Saru), Shazad Latif (Ash Tyler), Anthony Rapp (Lt. Commander Paul Stamets), Mary Wiseman (Ensign Sylvia Tilly), Wilson Cruz (Dr Hugh Culber) and Mary Chieffo (L’Rell). 

Season two of Star Trek: Discovery premieres Thursday, January 17th, 2019 at 8:30 PM, ET/5:30 PM, PT. That is exclusively on CBS All Access in the United States. It will will also be distributed concurrently by CBS Studios International on Netflix in 188 countries. In Canada it is on Bell Media’s Space channel and OTT service CraveTV.

The series is produced by CBS Television Studios, Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment.

Star Trek: Discovery Season 2 - Key Art
Star Trek: Discovery Season 2 – Key Art © 2018 CBS Interactive. photos by James Dim-mock

Colin Davies

The editor of Film Review Online